A huge mistake I’ve been making for a long time was not drinking enough. I only drank something when I was thirsty – but: that’s way too late!

Drink before you get thirsty!

You wouldn’t believe how much better and fitter you feel when you are well hydrated. 2/3 of your body consist of water. To work correctly, every cell, tissue, and organ in your body needs water. Water is used to maintain your body temperature, remove waste, and lubricate your joints.

From personal experience I can tell you: kidney stones are the most painful way your body informs you about a permanent lack of hydration.

But how do you drink enough?

Well, at first – if you’re like me – you have to force yourself. Place a huge jug full of water on your office desk, use reminders, and so on. And set goals. For me, that was the most important part.

wasser

I have a cup that fits half a liter, so here’s my daily routine:

  • 1/2 liter right after getting up in the morning
  • 1/2 liter until noon
  • 1/2 liter during the afternoon
  • 1/2 liter in the evening

In summer, I drink even more and I feel like my body then copes way better with high temperatures.

Oh, before I forget: you need to stay hydrated to lose weight. So if you’re trying to lose a few pounds and you’re stuck, remind yourself to drink enough! And one last tip…

Don’t drink that sugary stuff!

I know it’s not always that easy to drink enough. But it’s a great way to feel fitter without great effort.

How do you manage to stay hydrated? Do you use a special technique? Certain apps? Tell me about it – right below in the comments or on Facebook or Twitter!

