Some of my colleagues at work persuaded me to do a 30 Day Planking Challenge together. And it fit my lazygetics motto quite well, because it only takes a miniscule amount of time every day to improve your fitness!

So I thought I’d share my experience with you.

First, the basics:

There’s two variations, the elbow plank and the full plank.

The full plank spreads your body weight over smaller areas, such as your palms and your toes. As you can see on the picture, this exercise trains your upper body strength.

full-plank

Doing the elbow plank, however, your weight is spread over your forearms and toes, but your entire body is closer to the ground. This demands more core strength and is generally considered to be more difficult.

elbow-plank

The Challenge

We decided to do the elbow challenge, because if we were gonna spend just a few minutes (or in the first week even just seconds!) why not go all in?

Here’s the schedule we tried to stick to:

  • Day 1 – 20 seconds
  • Day 2 – 20 seconds
  • Day 3 – 30 seconds
  • Day 4 – 30 seconds
  • Day 5 – 40 seconds
  • Day 6 – REST
  • Day 7 – 45 seconds
  • Day 8 – 45 seconds
  • Day 9 – 60 seconds
  • Day 10 – 60 seconds
  • Day 11 – 60 seconds
  • Day 12 – 90 seconds
  • Day 13 – REST
  • Day 14 – 90 seconds
  • Day 15 – 90 seconds
  • Day 16 – 120 seconds
  • Day 17 – 120 seconds
  • Day 18 – 150 seconds
  • Day 19 – REST
  • Day 20 – 150 seconds
  • Day 21 – 150 seconds
  • Day 22 – 180 seconds
  • Day 23 – 180 seconds
  • Day 24 – 210 seconds
  • Day 25 – 210 seconds
  • Day 26 – REST
  • Day 27 – 240 seconds
  • Day 28 – 240 seconds
  • Day 29 – 270 seconds
  • Day 30 – PLANK FOR AS LONG AS POSSIBLE!

 

The Outcome

We’re at day 27 now, but you can’t honestly believe we’re able to hold the planking position for 240 seconds?! In my opinion, that’s not even the point of this challenge. If you’re not in constant training or haven’t trained before, it’s almost impossible to stick to the schedule.

And as always here at Lazygetics…

Don’t put yourself under the pressure of plans and schedules!

If you can’t hold the planking position for the amount of time stated above, just do it as long as you can. The only thing I’ve been sticking to is planking every day, even if it’s for a shorter period and that is what I would recommend you to do as well. You develop a habit and start to miss it if you don’t do your little exercise.

So, in the end my stomach muscles are thankful to receive some training and together with my tooth-brushing-squats in the morning and my office workouts I feel like I’m training in little portions all day long. 😉


There are different types of 30 Day Challenges, such as Squat Challenges, Ab Challenges and so on. Have you ever done one? Tell me about your experiences down there in the comments or on Facebook or Twitter! 🙂

